Howdy: A Brief Student Note

While I am still swamped teaching an accelerated algebra 1 course this summer, and unable to blog, I just received the following email from a recent AP Calculus student about their AP Exam score.  This student kept me on my toes all year…and many students on the edge of their seats…but that is for another day and time.

It’s good to hear back from students with good news, especially with unique ways of communicating praise. 🙂

****************

Howdy,

I don’t know if you already received our AP scores but I just found on at my orientation that I got a 4!!!!!!!! A FOUR!!!!!!!! I’m skipping Calculus 1 (AAAH SCARY). Even though I’m a pain and you’re a pain (I’m saying that in the absolute nicest tone and way possible), you teach some damn good calculus.

Have a good summer!
Your former student

Sent from my iPhone

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Howdy: A Brief Student Note

  1. John Goble says:

    Dave,
    As you know, I’m not a teacher … but aspire to be one some day. And it is reading notes from students like yours that drive me toward that goal.

    Way to go!

    John

    Like

    • Thanks, John. I have more positive posts to make when I finish teaching this summer course. These past few weeks I’ve worked with motivated youth who want to learn, know what is required of them to succeed, or at least to have a chance at succeeding, and are willing to put in the effort. It’s a night and day experience.

      Like

  2. russtowne says:

    Congratulations on a job well done, Dave!
    Russ

    Like

Leave a Reply

