Overcoming Racial Divides

A college classmate of mine posted an excerpt from one of the “What Would You Do” videos on Facebook.  I must admit, I do not watch TV, so I never heard of the series.  Yet, thanks to social media, I had the chance to watch a portion of a segment that addressed racism head on.

The video touched my soul and made my heart swell.  I hope it moves you similarly.

I spent much of my youth in the South with racial tensions on the surface and in the shadows.  Many of my closest friends were not white, and life was good.  Yet, not everyone could find it in themselves to embrace one another regardless of skin color.  Ignorance, past wrongs, mistrust, injustices, indignation, cultural differences, and many other human frailties conspired (and still conspire) to perpetuate the perceptions and actions that keep people apart and not together.  Fortunately, my life experiences enabled me to grow beyond many of these limiting factors.  However, not everyone is so fortunate.

As such, I hope the gross inequities in our nation and world are significantly diminished, if not completely removed, by those who have so much waking up to realize they have more than enough to share with those who do not, so we rally to support one another in the face of injustice, such as these video clips show.

What we share will vary depending upon what we have in abundance. For most, it will be love, compassion, understanding, knowledge, skills, jobs, and a helping hand.  For others, it can be those items as well, but also the great wealth one may have accumulated over one’s existence, whether as an individual, community, state, or nation, that may be put to use improving the lives of the greater society.  This should not simply be a forced distribution of wealth, for that corrupts and creates resentment.  It should be a committed, compassionate act driven by the individual and collective desire to improve our community, state, nation, and world.  While many foundations exist for specific contributions to the public good, I am not aware of any that address the ever-widening income and wealth inequalities in our country, which tends to preserve the racial divides in our country.

May this change soon.

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

