A Mathy Valentine’s Day to You

With Valentine’s Day arriving tomorrow, I decided to send the Mathy Valentine below to my students with the following query.

Anyone interested in finding the area of the heart in this valentine? Think about how you might go about it… 

Valentine 1

Thanks to Desmos for sending me a link to the site they created for people to create their own math-o-gram.

Valentine 1.5

What I did not send to my students is the equation used to create the heart, shown below.  This harkened back to my first exposure to analytic geometry in high school.

Valentine 2

One student already responded asking if there was any extra credit associated with finding the area.  As they have a test tomorrow on methods of integration, I suggested they focus on their studies and not the extra credit.  Maybe I’ll agree to some if they work on it over the winter break next week.

For those interested, Desmos’ mathogram.desmos.com site, shown below, offers other images for your math-o-gram valentine.

Valentine 3

For those interested in practice developing to the Desmos API, they also have open-sourced the software used to create math-o-grams at github.

Valentine 4

All of this started with the following email subject line from Desmos:

Send your sweetie π a Math-o-gram!

I could not resist the subject line…and I am glad they sent it.

Valentine 5

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

