Sharing AP Calculus AB Quiz Solutions with My Students

This year, I decided to email my students worked solutions to all quizzes to help them improve their understanding of the concepts, procedures, notation, and problem solving methods as well as to prepare for an upcoming test.

Initially, I typed out the solutions using Microsoft Word and its equation editor as shown in the following two examples.

Example 1

Quiz Solutions 0.1

Example 2

Quiz Solutions 0.2

I even decided to add commentary within the solution to help further explain certain moves as shown in the following.

Example 3

Quiz Solutions 0.3

However, it took a few hours to write out step-by-step solutions, especially if I included commentary such as in the example above.

Given the immense amount of time required to type out solutions, and add commentary, I switched to handwritten solutions such as the following.

Example 4

Quiz Solutions 0

While this is inferior in legibility, it did not take up a tremendous amount of time, as long as I already worked out the solutions.  This worked well until I ran into time crunches, given my other courses, which limited my ability to work out solutions in detail right after giving the quiz.  However, students came to appreciate having the worked out solutions to study before tests, so they started to apply pressure by asking for them recently.  As I built up a backlog of six quizzes at this point in second semester, I needed to create solutions to over fifty questions this past weekend.  Creating them took nearly four hours.  A selection from those questions follow.  I emailed the complete set out to my students.  Not one of them responded to them.  I guess that means they are now simply expected, and no longer appreciated as added-value.  Oh, well.  I guess that is the price of success. 🙂

How do you share solutions with students?

Example 5

Quiz Solutions 1

Example 6Quiz Solutions 2

Example 7Quiz Solutions 3

Example 8Quiz Solutions 4

Example 9Quiz Solutions 5

Example 10Quiz Solutions 6

Example 11Quiz Solutions 7

Example 12Quiz Solutions 8

Example 13Quiz Solutions 9

Example 14

Quiz Solutions 10

Example 15Quiz Solutions 11

Example 16Quiz Solutions 12

Example 17

Quiz Solutions 13

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in Curriculum, Pedagogy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

