888 Days: My Journey to Become a Teacher

In celebration of Chinese New Year, I’m re-blogging this post from 2011.

Reflections of a Second-career Math Teacher


Yesterday served as the first official day in my new career as a credentialed, mathematics teacher.  My journey to yesterday started 888 days ago when I took the California Basic Educational Skills Test (“CBEST”) on March 6th, 2009, shortly before I chose to end my twenty-five year career in high-tech.  Little did I know then how long the path could be.

The path between then and now twisted and turned, and rose and fell as I negotiated the multitude of hurdles those desiring to enter the teaching profession must overcome.  With perseverance, support from family and friends, and a helping hand from above, I neared the end of the first stage of my journey with receipt of my preliminary single-subject teaching credential in secondary mathematics, as well as in physics (specialized).

When I began this trek, I naïvely thought I could start teaching in the fall of 2009 since I…

View original post 772 more words

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

