A Conference Call in Real Life (Reason #589 for Why I Became a Math Teacher)

This is a hilarious video that is spot on.  It reminds me how much I do not miss these colossal time wasters.

It is amazing anything of value ever gets communicated in them.  Those of you who have not spent hours upon hours, day after day, on conference calls that extend around the globe may not appreciate how true to life this video hits.

May these never be a part of my daily life ever again!

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Conference Call in Real Life (Reason #589 for Why I Became a Math Teacher)

  1. GeoffSmith says:

    Dave,
    This is way off topic, but your blog description intrigues me. I’m a math teacher who is about to go to part time and get an engineering degree. I’m in my late twenties and I simply find myself in the same situation I see me students potentially ending up in if they get humanities degrees (Given: I’m teaching at a private school). So, while I agree that my job is fairly worthwhile, I also find it difficult to sell myself as somebody who, through appropriate thought and experience, has come to know about life. I can show them the numbers, the logic, I even apply Aristotelian syllogisms to geometry, algebra, and pre-calculus. Shoot, I even show the students how to incorporate such logic into research for papers and making rhetorical arguments. But, I’m also a guy with a master’s degree who now teaches. I see the same potential in our youth that you do (though smart phones make me doubt), but I get the impression that if I had experience designing switch boards, programming computers (my original major), or building things that make civilization possible, then students/parents mind find my arguments for rigorous mathematical instruction more compelling. Do you find that having so much background helps you? Or do you just regret having to sit in conference calls (they do not seem much more pointless than dinners in honor of board members)?

    Like

    • Geoff: Follow your passion. Experience in industry helps provide context to mathematics content, yet it is useless if you are not on fire to teach. Many who come from industry have discovered this the hard way. Likewise, leaving education for industry could leave you facing a hole in your heart if teaching is what makes it sing. The challenge for all of us in life is to discern our passion. It took me nearly 50 years. So, you have some time. 🙂

      Like

  2. The anecdote is hilarious and very true. This goes on day in and day out in corporations, especially with the geographically distributed workforce of today. If you have time, take a look at some corporate humor I have put together at: corporatelife101.wordpress.com.

    Like

Leave a Reply

