Math History

Reading this post reminds me of the French saying: “Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose” (The more things change, the more they stay the same).

History tends to repeat itself, especially when human interests are involved.

Zero-Knowledge Proofs

With much of what has been going on in the media around math seeming so new for some people, I thought I’d go back in time and do some research into whether this truly was a new problem/issue. I thought it would be even more fun if I went to my old University paper to find that information. My dad edited The Gateway in the 50’s, and it is a truly great University newspaper, so that’s where I went looking.

I found some interesting articles.

Students aren’t prepared for first year Calculus – The Gateway – 1992

Universities complain students don’t have the basics mastered – The Gateway – 1975

Lack of drill and operation in grade school math – The Gateway – 1956

If intellectual curiosity were held more important than a good memory – The Gateway 1968

An editorial by my dad that has nothing at all to…

View original post 9 more words

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

