Reconnecting with My Teaching Philosophy

As part of my effort to reinvigorate myself for the spring semester, I need to reconnect with the teaching philosophy I codified in ed school: see below.  My philosophy defines my raison d’etre as a teacher.

Teaching Philosophy

Doing so also allows me to revisit why I teach, seeking inspiration from my brother’s passing twenty years ago tonight.  These softer emotional and spiritual reasons do more to help underserved students than any amount of data-driven instruction alone will ever achieve.

Unfortunately, the emphasis this past decade on top-down, federally driven education policy à la No Child Left Behind (NCLB) and its progeny is doing more to drive compassionate, capable teachers like myself from the profession while simultaneously disenfranchising droves of underserved students.  The overly narrow focus on student outcomes in mathematics, especially specifying courses like algebra, without taking into account process inputs such as student preparedness and readiness has been a colossal failure in this country.  Doubling-down on this gamble with Common Core will only worsen the situation.

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in Accountability, Pedagogy, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reconnecting with My Teaching Philosophy

  1. Dave your senior ( experience and age only) says:

    I are working with morecaucus.org, an alternative activist group in the UFT in NYC to help address these educational problems in a more meaningful way. If you get to NYC let me know. the issues are similar all over the country; also student privacy invasion and high stakes testing BS.

    Like

Leave a Reply

