“Do we need to have a serious talk about marijuana?”

Day 3 of Raul and Salvador’s cannabis cabal rose to a level where my CT decided to have a brief tête–à–tête with Salvador, initially, then Raul, as well.  Yesterday, she mentioned in between classes that she was going to take this approach to Salvador’s joking about marijuana, if he continued, since she views this as such a serious subject for a variety of reasons.  I really appreciated her sharing her thinking, reasoning and planning about this issue with me; and the opportunity to witness aspects of her first discussion with Salvador and Raul today, although I did not hear her last discussion with them since I was helping another student in how to write a linear equation in standard form:  Ax+By=C.

Today’s episode started when Raul told my CT that another teacher accused him of being high since he came to class very late one day; I do not know what triggered his comment.  My CT, in an empathetic move, asked Ryan how that made him feel.  Before Raul could respond, Salvador jumped in with a comment that the teacher, himself, was likely high, which is what set my CT in motion.

My CT did an awesome job nipping this in the bud today.*  She spoke in a serious tone, raising her voice just enough so they could tell she was not in a joking mood.  Many students’ ears perked up upon hearing my CT speak that way, and several snickers ensued.  Surprisingly, Salvador turned beet red, showing he was not as desensitized to what a teacher said, or thought about him, than his demeanor projected; this is a good sign.

While Salvador and Raul quieted down for a bit, Raul could not help himself a few minutes later when he blurted out some comment about being high which set their group off giggling.  This happened while I was just a few feet away, and saw who said what.  I walked over to them, stating that joking about drugs was not a laughing matter.  Salvador instantly chimed in that he did not say anything, which I acknowledged, but told him he still laughed, which was improper; he acknowledged his complicity with a shrug.  Our discussion piqued my CT’s interest so she walked over and asked if Salvador was joking about marijuana, again.  I shook my head, no, and pointed at Raul, upon which my CT said they both had to stay after class, during brunch, to have a serious discussion.

I missed the serious discussion, however, my CT said they listened politely and she sensed they understood her perspective.  Let’s see what tomorrow brings.

* My apologies, however, I could not resist the pun, the recognition of which followed usage, and not the other way around.

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in Student Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

