A Tale of Two Classes

I had the privilege of leading class today for P2 and P3 since my CT had to leave since she did not feel well.  P2 went better than expected with review for tomorrow’s marking period 1 final.  Although it was a slight chore to get some students to the front of the class, they all listened to my polite cajoling, and, at a minimum, stood up front while many others with them worked the problems at the board; I was very proud of the class today, even if I had to speak to their behavior more than I would prefer.  Regardless, I hope they do well on their final!

P3 was another story; they are so comfortable chatting away in class that they miss out on learning and make it too difficult for an instructor to keep their attention; and for the teachers-aren’t-offering-captivating-enough-lessons-crowd, not every lesson or moment in a classroom needs to adhere to the “two second attention span” world of TVs, X-Boxes and Nintendo DS Lights.  So, what should have taken 1-2 minutes spanned 7 minutes, with some of that time occupied with a mini-lecture from yours truly on paying attention while someone is speaking to them.  I do not like having to engage students in “lecture mode,” however, I will not hesitate, respectfully and all the while seeking understanding and agreement, so they receive the education they deserve, whether they know they should or not.  I believe it is a disservice to let them babble on about everything but the lesson at hand.  Whether they know it now or not, down the road they will appreciate the fact that I helped them “learn how to learn” so their first year in college did not have as much emotional trauma as it could have.  At least that’s what I keep telling myself… 🙂

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in Student Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Tale of Two Classes

  1. Ms. Rachelle says:

    “all the while seeking understanding and agreement”

    How do you check for understanding/agreement? How has your CT dealt with the behavioral concerns in this class? How effective was the classroom after this lecture/how did you measure this?

    Like

Leave a Reply

