New Beginnings

The day after Labor Day, I received contact info for a prospective CT.  The next day, I met with who would turn out to be my new CT.  The day started out with a brief meeting with the principal which went well; I liked his style and demeanor:  serious but able to smile and jest at the right moments.  My CT ventured over to meet with both of us then her and I left for her classroom.  She teaches Algebra 1, AP Statistics, and AVID* classes.

I spent the entire morning with her observing three classes.  She did a great job, and I could tell after the first two classes that I wanted her as my new CT.  During a brunch break, she introduced me to a couple of teachers as her prospective student teacher and I clarified at that moment that I was her student teacher; no use wasting time.  Later that day, I informed my program that I felt my CT and I were a good match and we’re off!

The week went well.  I took it slow, and plan to maintain a slow pace for a while to make sure there is no sudden ablation in the relationship as occurred with my first CT.  I do not suspect that will happen, but once bitten, twice shy they say.  Subsequent posts will speak to my observations and reflections.  I look forward to learning great things from my CT as I’m back on the road to becoming a math teacher for all students that enter my classroom, whether they want to learn math, or not.

*  I had never heard of AVID before.  AVID stands for Advancement Via Individual Determination.  From their website: “It is a college-readiness system designed to increase the number of students who enroll in four-year colleges. Although AVID serves all students, it focuses on the least served students in the academic middle. The formula is simple – raise expectations of students and, with the AVID support system in place, they will rise to the challenge.”  See http://www.avid.org/ for further info.

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in Student Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Beginnings

  1. Rich says:

    Dave,
    I’m really happy for you. Also, AVID sounds like a great program.

    Like

Leave a Reply

