To Every Thing There Is A Season

To every thing there is a season…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4ga_M5Zdn4&feature=related

In my wildest dreams, I never foresaw my current situation: my CT and I reached a mutual understanding yesterday that my placement as a student teacher with her ends this Friday.  I will not go into the details driving this change out of respect for all parties concerned; I now wait for a new placement assignment.  I will say that it essentially was a chemistry / compatibility issue, where oil and water would not mix.

So, I will finish out the week at my current placement, spend next week observing fellow TC’s CTs, and await my newly assigned CT.  I believe all things happen for a reason, well, most things, so I am very optimistic that my new CT, whomever that will be, and I will work well together; I’ve already mourned my loss, made peace with reality, and look forward to what the future brings.

Meanwhile, my credential program is ramping back up from a brief respite between summer and fall classes.  Classroom management and practicum readings, writings and discussions fill my days, evenings, and nights, outside of placement.  I am keenly interested in classroom management since I firmly believe that students must be engaged, and be fully present, mind, body and soul, when in class, in my opinion, in order for them to learn truly, and deeply; getting them to be engaged and fully present is the challenge.  To that end, I hope to create an environment in all of my future classrooms, for all students, where student learning is central, sustained, and enjoyable, where ideas flow freely in Socratic, dialogic discourse enhancing the esteem of the person and entire class as we embark on our journey of discovering new knowledge, new ways of thinking, acting and being, with enlightenment as our ultimate goal.

Until next time, listen to The Byrds’ rendition of “Turn! Turn! Turn!” if you have not clicked on it already and enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4ga_M5Zdn4&feature=related

Postscript: I was going to title this post “This Too Shall Pass” and include OK Go’s song but the lyrics did not match the feeling…the song and video is cool though.  So I include the following poem which I found affirming for my situation.

This Too Shall Pass

by Helen Steiner Rice

If I can endure for this minute

Whatever is happening to me,

No matter how heavy my heart is

Or how dark the moment may be

If I can remain calm and quiet

With all the world crashing about me,

Secure in the knowledge God loves me

When everyone else seems to doubt me

If I can but keep on believing

What I know in my heart to be true,

That darkness will fade with the morning

And that this will pass away, too

Then nothing in life can defeat me

For as long as this knowledge remains

I can suffer whatever is happening

For I know God will break all of the chains

That are binding me tight in the darkness

And trying to fill me with fear

For there is no night without dawning

And I know that my morning is near.

About Dave aka Mr. Math Teacher

Secondary math teacher teaching math intervention, algebra 1, honors precalculus, and AP Calculus AB. I spent 25 years in high tech in engineering, marketing, sales and business development roles in the satellite communications, GPS, semiconductor, and wireless industries. I am awed by the potential in our nation's youth and I hope to instill in them the passion to improve our world at local, state, national, and global levels.
This entry was posted in Student Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To Every Thing There Is A Season

  1. zshiner says:

    I’m sorry to hear things didn’t work out between you and your CT. I know of a couple students who’ve already changed CTs and a few more who are considering it. It looks like you’re putting your best foot forward though and are excited for the future. I’m sure I’ll learn all about how things go.

    Like

    • Dave says:

      Thanks Mr. Z. Good to know I’m not the only one…And I’m interviewing with a principal and prospective CT tomorrow AM…will update you tomorrow before class. Based on what I’ve learned so far, it has high potential.

      Like

  2. Denise says:

    Thanks for sharing your blog with me. You’re quite an eloquent blogger. That song brings back some interesting/old memories. Isn’t music amazingly powerful? (Though that’s another discussion to be had).

    I’m sorry about your placement, but I’m glad to hear you’ve handled it so well. I’m sure things will work out for you! I’ll try to remember to get some of that 70%+ dark chocolate for you. Good luck!

    Like

    • Dave says:

      Thanks Ms. D. You’re too young to have old memories! 🙂 But I know what you mean with music…so glad musically talented folks exist in this world…and dark chocolate will always curry favor with me… BTW, my youngest son asked me if I was older than The Byrds after he listened to the song with me and I told him I was born before it was recorded…out of the mouths of babes!

      Like

  3. Rich says:

    I find it funny how sometimes I cannot ‘click’ with people who I have worked with for years. I find it equally odd how I’m able to absolutely sync with another person who I’ve only met for a few hours or minutes. It makes me feel/believe that some things are meant to be…or not meant to be. You are fortunate that you have the opportunity to ‘move on’ rather than to be stuck in an unrewarding environment. I know I feel lucky/blessed to have left behind a negative work environment 1 year ago for the place I find myself today. 🙂 good luck Dave. Nice blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

